2004-2005 Annual Report ASA Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics

The Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics has had a busy and exciting year. At the Fall 2004 meeting in San Diego, TCAA sponsored a special Topical Meeting, organized by Ning Xiang and Rendell Torres, on "Spatial and Binaural Evaluation of Acoustics in Performing Art Spaces," which spanned two half-day sessions Other TCAA special sessions and their organizers included "Integration of Synthesis Techniques and 'Acoustical' Music" (K. Anthony Hoover), "Coupled Volume Systems: Design Processes and Implications" (David T. Bradley, Ralph Muehleisen), "Implementation of Classroom Acoustics" (Michael Stinson, Lily Wang), and "Speech in Architectural Spaces – Both Intelligibility and Privacy" (Ken Roy, Peter Mapp). Robin Glosemeyer served as TCAA representative to the Technical Program Organizing Meeting for this conference.

At the Spring 2005 meeting in Vancouver, TCAA sponsored a special Topical Meeting, organized by Murray Hodgson and Lily Wang, on "Classroom Acoustics: the Research Perspective," which included three half-day sessions and an evening public forum. Other TCAA special sessions and their organizers included "Architectural Acoustics and the Green Building Movement" (Ralph Muehleisen, Murray Hodgson), "Possibilities and Problems with Auralizations of Classroom Acoustics" (Bob Coffeen), "Preserving Acoustical Integrity in the Course of Renovation" (Dan Raichel), and "Soundscapes from an Architectural Viewpoint" (Brigitte Schulte-Fortkamp). Kerrie Standlee and Lily Wang served as TCAA representatives to the Technical Program Organizing Meeting for this conference. A special thanks to Murray Hodgson who served as General Chair for this excellent joint meeting with the Canadian Acoustical Association.

TCAA has several active subcommittees who made reports this past year. The *Newman Student Award Fund* continues to be active, providing awards to students who excel in their study of architectural acoustics and supporting educators who develop new educational materials through the Schultz Grant; more information may be found on their website at www.newmanfund.org. Another excellent *Student Design Competition* was organized for the Vancouver meeting by Bob Coffeen, Byron Harrison and Norm Philipp, with first honors going to Lauren Ronsse and Andy Miller from the University of Kansas. Bill Dohn is leading the planning of the 3rd *Concert Hall Research Group* Summer School to be held in Aspen, Colorado in August 2006. The *Acoustics Product Safety Working Group*, chaired by Nancy Timmerman, is organizing a special session on product safety for the upcoming ASA conference in Minneapolis.

A new joint subcommittee with the Technical Committee on Noise concerning *Speech Privacy* was initiated at the San Diego meeting, chaired by Greg Tocci, and has been actively meeting throughout the year. Another new initiative approved in San Diego is to offer a TCAA Student Paper Award at each conference, along the same lines as many of the other ASA Technical Committees. The first awards will be given to students who present at the Fall 2005 meeting in Minneapolis. Interest in forming another new

subcommittee focused on integrating *Acoustics in Green Building Design* was expressed at the Vancouver meeting; Ralph Muehleisen is leading those efforts.

Greg Miller and Robin Glosemeyer are finalizing the publication "Another Two Decades of Drama Theaters," based on posters submitted at the Spring 2004 meeting in New York City. Work has begun on the next such project: "Another Two Decades of Worship Spaces," organized by Adam Foxwell and Rosemary Su, with a poster session scheduled for the Spring 2006 meeting in Providence, Rhode Island.

Classroom Acoustics continues to be an important topic that TCAA members are strongly advocating. Special sessions on this topic were held at both San Diego and Vancouver, and a unique brainstorming session at the San Diego meeting focused on how to continue with Classroom Acoustics outreach. The TCAA is very grateful to David Lubman and Lou Sutherland for their ongoing efforts in this regard.

Congratulations to TCAA members who became ASA Fellows or were award recipients this year. New Fellows include Bennett Brooks, Klaus Genuit, Murray Hodgson, K. Anthony Hoover, and Volker Mellert. Lily Wang received the 2005 R. Bruce Lindsay Award at the Vancouver meeting.

Many thanks to the following individuals for their efforts this past year in ASA on behalf of TCAA. Red Wetherill is our representative on the Medals and Awards Committee. Greg Tocci serves on the Membership Committee, and George Winzer is TCAA representative to the ASA Committee on Standards. David T. Bradley from the University of Nebraska is our Student Council representative. The Associate Editors in Architectural Acoustics are Mendel Kleiner and Ning Xiang for JASA, and J. D. Quirt for ARLO. Steven Brown is a member on the Executive Council. And lastly, a special thanks to Tony Hoover for his outstanding service as TCAA Chair for the previous three years.

LILY M. WANG *Chair*