2005-2006 Annual Report ASA Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics

The Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics has been very active in 2005-06. At the Fall 2005 meeting in Minneapolis, held jointly with the Institute of Noise Control Engineering's NOISE-CON conference, TCAA special sessions and their organizers included "Comparison of US and International Acoustic Standards in Architectural Acoustics" (David Marsh), "Indoor Noise Criteria" (Erica Bowden), "ISO 3382 and Electroacoustics Measurement Workshop" (Peter Mapp, Bob Coffeen), "Plumbing Noise" (James Phillips), "Reflection on Reflections" (Peter D'Antonio and Trevor Cox), "The Safety of Acoustical Products" (Nancy Timmerman, Jeff Szymanski), a Special Session in Honor of Cyril Harris, and "Speech Privacy in Buildings" (Ken Roy). A special highlight was the distinguished lecture given by Manfred Schroeder, in celebration of the 30th anniversary since the publication of his seminal paper on surface scattering: "Diffuse sound reflection by maximum-length sequences", JASA, 57, No. 1, pp. 149-151 (1975). David Braslau and Bruce Olson served as the TCAA representatives to the Technical Program Organizing Meeting for this conference.

At the Spring 2006 meeting in Providence, TCAA special sessions and their organizers included "Acoustics of Libraries" (Ben Markham), "Acoustics of Multi-family Housing" (Gary Siebein), "Microperforated Materials" (Christian Nocke, Ning Xiang), a Special Session in Honor of John Kopec (Dave Moyer), "Surround Sound" (Alex Case, Tony Hoover), and a Poster Session on "Worship Spaces" (Rosemary Su, Adam Foxwell). A notably unique session was "Composed Spaces" (Alex Case), which involved the realization of space with new composition; a loudspeaker concert was run all day, and there was a preceding session where the composers discussed their compositions. Alex Case and Damian Doria served as TCAA representatives to the Technical Program Organizing Meeting for this conference.

Many of TCAA's subcommittees reported activity this year. The *Newman Student Award Fund* continues to provide awards to students who excel in their study of architectural acoustics and to support educators who develop new educational materials through the Schultz Grant; more information may be found on their website at www.newmanfund.org. Another excellent *Student Design Competition* was organized for the Providence meeting by Bob Coffeen, Byron Harrison and Norm Philipp, sponsored by the Wenger Foundation. First honors in the competition were awarded to Anthony McCreery, Hari Savitala, and Arthur van der Harten from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

The Acoustics Product Safety Working Group, chaired by Nancy Timmerman, organized a special session on product safety for the Fall 2005 conference in Minneapolis. The joint subcommittee with the Technical Committee on Noise concerning Speech Privacy, chaired by Greg Tocci, organized a special session on the history of speech privacy as well as a celebratory banquet at the Spring 2006 conference in Providence. The joint subcommittee has been asked to add recommendations to the national Hospital Design

Guidelines; additionally, an ANSI working group S12 WG44 has been formed to draft measurement and performance standards regarding speech privacy.

Achieving good classroom acoustics continues to be an important topic that TCAA members are strongly advocating. Technical Initiatives fund were used for ASA to become a member of the Collaborative for High Performance Schools (CHPS) and towards a targeted mailing, advertising the Classroom Acoustics standard, organized by Les Blomberg and the Noise Control Pollution Clearinghouse. The number of downloads of the Classroom Acoustics standard remains high. The Classroom Acoustics II booklet is now available for free download just as the Classroom Acoustics I booklet is, thanks to Ralph Muehleisen's efforts. Additionally, an ASA Position Statement on the Use of Sound Amplification in the Classroom has been issued. The TCAA is very grateful to David Lubman and Lou Sutherland for their ongoing leadership efforts in this regard.

Greg Miller and Robin Glosemeyer are working on the publication "Another Two Decades of Drama Theaters," based on posters presented at the Spring 2004 meeting in New York City. Work has begun on the next such project: "Another Two Decades of Worship Spaces," organized by Adam Foxwell and Rosemary Su, based on posters presented at the Spring 2006 meeting in Providence.

Other activities that TCAA is pursuing include the 3rd *Concert Hall Research Group Summer Institute* to be held in Aspen, Colorado in August 2006, with leadership from Bill Dohn. Tony Hoover has developed a PowerPoint presentation that will be submitted to the American Institute of Architects (AIA) so that when presented by TCAA members it may count towards AIA continuing education credits.

This was the first year in many that TCAA offered a Best Student Paper Award. The recipients of the awards for the Minneapolis meeting were David T. Bradley (1st prize) and Erica Bowden (2nd prize), both from the University of Nebraska. The recipients for the Providence meeting were Lauren Ronsse from the University of Kansas (1st prize) and Zuhre Su from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2nd prize).

Congratulations to TCAA members who became ASA Fellows or were award recipients this year. New Fellows include Wolfgang Ahnert, Alex Case, Samir Gerges, Peter Mapp, and Charles Salter. Student awardees were Bobby Gibbs who received the 2005 ASA Minority Student Fellowship and Erica Bowden who received the 2006 ASA Hunt Postdoctoral Research Fellowship.

Many thanks to the following individuals for their hard work this past year in ASA on behalf of TCAA. Red Wetherill is our representative on the Medals and Awards Committee. Greg Tocci serves on the Membership Committee, and George Winzer is TCAA representative to the ASA Committee on Standards. David T. Bradley from the University of Nebraska served his last year as our Student Council representative. The Associate Editors in Architectural Acoustics are Mendel Kleiner and Ning Xiang for JASA, Ning Xiang for JASA-Express Letters, and Tony Hoover for Acoustics Today.

Finally, thanks to Brandon Tinianov for his service as TCAA Secretary and for chairing various ad hoc TCAA subcommittees over the past year.

LILY M. WANG *Chair*