ARCHITECTURAL ACOUSTICS

Members of the Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics continue to be remarkably hardworking and productive, and our membership continues to grow.

87 members attended our Technical Committee meeting in November, 2003 in Austin, TX. The committee members offered hearty congratulations to Dr. Leo Beranek, 2002 National Medal of Science Laureate, presented by President George W. Bush, at the White House. Members Ron Freiheit and Tim Foulkes were announced as new Fellows of the Acoustical Society of America. Dick Campbell was elected Vice-President of the ASA Foundation.

Special session chairs included Ken Roy, Alex Case, Yashushi Shimizu, Jack Randorff, Peter Ladefoged, Richard Lyon, William Hartmann, Sanford Fidell, and David Marsh.

An outreach by the Classroom Acoustics Task Force is being chaired by Bob Coffeen and Red Wetherill, who are directing much activity toward clients and organizations such as the National Education Association, state agencies, unions, and teachers. Three new websites on Classroom Acoustics are up and running.

The Student Council announced plans for a pilot student chapter at the University of Nebraska, and also announced plans to offer a mentoring award. Other business items included continuing work by the Concert Hall Research Group, and the publication of the Halls for Music Performance book. A committee is being organized to address product safety, primarily for nonacoustical issues such as flammability, toxicity, and other safety issues.

The second Concert Hall Acoustics Summer Institute was a great success, held August 11 -14, 2003, in Saratoga Springs, NY, co-sponsored by the National Council of Acoustical Consultants. At least 20 students attended with full fellowships.

Technical Initiatives included \$750.00 for the Student Design Competition, planned for the New York City ASA meeting. \$600.00 was approved for student receptions, co-sponsored by the National Council of Acoustical Consultants. \$300.00 was approved for website maintenance. \$2,000.00 was approved for Outreach for Classroom Acoustics, and \$1,000.00 was approved to work with Education in Acoustics on developing and promoting lesson plans. A technical initiative was submitted for \$500.00 to cover travel for an invited speaker, Harold Marshall, for participation in the New York City "Multisensory" special session.

Lily Wang was elected the next chair of the Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics.

88 members attended our Technical Committee meeting in May, 2004, in New York City. TCAA held its meeting jointly with the Technical Committee on Noise, primarily because of the nature of the schedule for the overall meeting, and because so many members have deep interest in both technical committees.

Congratulations were offered to the Acoustical Society for its 75th Anniversary, and to Leo Beranek for his 90th birthday. David Lubman was awarded the Helmholtz-Rayleigh Interdisciplinary Silver Medal. Jian Kang, Keith Wilson, and Eric Woods have been elected new Fellows of the ASA. Student winners of the 2004 TCAA/NCAC Student Design Competition were announced, with results that can be found through links at the TCAA website. TCAA also offered congratulations to all those who participated in the ASA 75th Anniversary Book, especially Bill Cavanaugh and Hank Bass, who served as editors.

Special Session Chairs at the New York meeting were Rendell Torres, Lily Wang, Jerry Hyde, Bob Coffeen, Robin Glosemeyer, Yoichi Ando, Jin Jeon, Greg Miller, Neil Shaw, Gary Elko, James West, Elizabeth Cohen, Mendel Kleiner, Chris Jaffe, Neil Rolnick, and Ben Mueller.

Technical Initiatives supported a variety of activities. \$750.00 had been approved for the Student Design Competition. \$300.00 had been pre-approved for the Student Reception. \$300.00 has been approved for the web page maintenance. George Wong presented a request for financial support toward a meeting on ISO Standards, to be held in North America.

The first pilot student chapter has been established at the University of Nebraska. Templates for other student chapters will be available soon. 15 nominations were submitted for the Student Council Mentoring Award, and the award recipient will be announced at the San Diego plenary meeting.

Updates from the Concert Hall Research Group, the Newman Student Award Fund, the Classroom Acoustics Group, and the Acoustic Data Working Group were discussed.

Congratulations to Lily Wang, who was introduced as the new Chairman of the Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics.

Active participation remains strong in TCAA, and our membership continues to grow in both number and enthusiasm.

K. Anthony Hoover Chair

