## Architectural Acoustics 2002 Annual Report

Members of TCAA continue to be very dedicated, hard-working, and productive, and our membership continues to grow.

Sixty-one members attended our technical committee meeting in December 2002 in Cancun, Mexico, and eighty-seven members attended our technical committee meeting, in April 2003 in Nashville. Highlights of our activities include the ASA meetings, completion of the first major phase of work on classroom acoustics, imminent printing of a book of halls for music performance, support of the second Concert Hall Acoustics Summer Institute (August 11-14, 2003 in Saratoga Springs, New York), a student design competition, and continuing work on outreach and education.

Special sessions at the Cancun meeting included design of offices to enhance speech privacy and work performance, acoustical design at hotels, scattering topics in room acoustics, noise isolation, music buildings in Latin America, sound recording and studios in Mexico, ancient acoustics (Megaliths and Pyramids), halls theaters and cathedrals, speech intelligibility in buildings and metrics for predictions and evaluation, ancient acoustics (Vases and theater spaces), ancient acoustics (sounding instruments), ancient acoustics (pre-columbian sounding instruments), room reverberation modeling, measurements and materials, duct acoustics and vibration, and acoustic comfort in architecture. TCAA also provided a tutorial on architectural acoustics. Session chairs included (note several chaired 2 sessions) Kenneth Roy (2), David Marsh (2), Richard Campbell, Carlos Bidondo, Brandon Tinianov, Christopher Jaffe, Jose Megrete, Murray Hodgson, Frank Brittain, David Lubman, Fernando Elizondo, Peter Mapp, Per Bruel, Sergio Beristain, James Cottingham (2), Roberto Velasquez (2), Angelo Campanella, Fausto Rodriguez (2), Paul Schomer (2), Brigitte Schulte-Fortkamp (2), Jorge Arenas, Jerry Lilly, and Elvira Viverios. The tutorial was chaired by Ralph Muehleisen, with presentations by Neil Shaw, Rick Talake, and Sylvio Bistafa. Our TPOM representatives were Angelo Campanella and David Marsh.

TCAA members Richard Campbell, Jack Randorff, and Ning Xiang were recognized as new Fellows of ASA. Member Alfred Warnock was awarded the ASA Wallace Clement Sabine Medal. Member Leo Beranek was awarded the John William Strutt, 3<sup>rd</sup> Baron of Rayleigh Medal.

During the Cancun meeting, Lou Sutherland and David Lubman were presented plaques by Susan Blaeser and Paul Schomer in recognition of outstanding work in connection with the classroom acoustics ANSI standard S12.60.2002, at a reception that was hosted by the National Council of Acoustical Consultants (NCAC).

TCAA member David Lubman was primarily responsible for initiating and organizing the trip on the weekend immediately following the Cancun meeting to Chichen Itza, a compound of astonishing Mayan ruins, including a pyramid and a ball court with intriguing acoustic properties. This overnight adventure involved six buses of ASA members and families. This fascinating and enjoyable trip seemed an appropriate coda to an energetic week, much dedicated to promoting and enhancing relationships with our friends from the Iberoamerican Congress of Acoustics and the Mexican Congress on Acoustics.

Special sessions at the Nashville meeting included architectural acoustics research and application, multi-channel sound reinforcement systems, student design competition, relationships of synthesis and processing to "acoustical" music, a celebration of the life in acoustics of Richard H. Bolt, recording studio acoustics, teaching architectural acoustics to non-acousticians, and architectural and electroacoustic design of interactive museums and halls of fame. Session chairs included William Cavanaugh, Steve Haas, Robert Coffeen, Jeff Szymanski, Alex Case, K. Anthony Hoover, Rendell Torres, Martha Larson, Lilly Wang, and Robin Glosemeyer. Special thanks to our TPOM representatives Martha Larson and Lilly Wang.

TCAA members Ronald McKay, Floyd Toole, Brigitte Schulte-Fortkamp, and David Walsh were recognized as new Fellows of ASA.

It was announced that ANSI had upheld the classroom acoustics standard S12.60.2002 against all appeals. Plans for outreach and further work were discussed in some detail. Sixteen entries from nine schools competed in the 2003 student design competition, with entries judged by Russ Berger, David Conant, Brian Kubicki, Ed Logsdon, Robert Traub, and Red Wetherill.

Techincal initiatives continue to support TCAA's website, student design competition, student receptions, outreach for classroom acoustics, AIA certification for continuing education, and support of the upcoming tutorial on forensics in acoustics (scheduled for the Austin ASA meeting, jointly with NCAC).

Active participation remains strong in TCAA, and our membership continues to grow in both number and enthusiasm.

K. Anthony Hoover, Chair